Daniel Loxton Elected as a CSI Fellow

The Committee for Skeptical Inquiry (CSI—formerly the Committee for the Scientific Investigation of Claims of the Paranormal) has named Daniel Loxton as a new Fellow of the organization:

Ten distinguished scientists, scholars, educators, and investigators from five countries have been elected fellows of the Committee for Skeptical Inquiry (CSI), copublisher of the Skeptical Inquirer. CSI (formerly CSICOP) is one of the world’s leading organizations for the promotion of scientific thinking and the critical examination of extraordinary claims from a scientific point of view.

Fellows of CSI are selected for their “distinguished contributions to science and skepticism.” They are nominated and elected by CSI’s twelve-member Executive Council.

Other newly named Fellows include John Cook (of Skepticalscience.com), Julia Galef (president and cofounder of the Center for Applied Rationality), and historian of science Naomi Oreskes (co-author of Merchants of Doubt with Erik M. Conway).

Past Fellows include Isaac Asimov, Carl Sagan, and Martin Gardner. Current Fellows include science educator and television host Bill Nye, astronomer Neil de Grasse Tyson, Nobel laureate Murray Gell-Mann, anthropologist Eugenie C. Scott, psychologist Ray Hyman, and Cosmos creator/writer Ann Druyan.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *